Greasing The Wheels

A friend turned the Cowboy on to Atahualpa Yupanqui some 15 or more years ago.  He is considered a native treasure in Argentina.  This is one of my favorites.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

It has a haunting, melancholy tone that makes the Cowboy reflect on the difficult lives of peasants around the world, and the weariness that comes from a hard life.  It is also strangely reassuring.

Despite the difficulties, despite one’s flaws, there is a sweet and comforting sound that comes from the grinding, scraping and screeching of life.

Here are the lyrics, with translation by the Cowboy.

Porque no engraso los ejes
me llaman abandonao’.
Porque no engraso los ejes
me llaman abandonao’
Si a mi me gusta que suenen
pa’ que los quiero engrasaos’.
Si a mi me gusta que suenen
pa’ que los quiero engrasaos’.
Es demasiado aburrido
seguir y seguir la huella.
Es demasiado aburrido
seguir y seguir la huella.
Demasiao’ largo el camino
sin nada que me entretenga.
No necesito silencio
yo no tengo en qué pensar.
No necesito el silencio
yo no tengo en qué pensar.
Tenía, pero hace tiempo
ahora ya no pienso más.
Los ejes de mi carreta
nunca los voy a engrasar.
Because I don’t grease the axles,
they call me abandoned.
Because I don’t grease the axles,
they call me abandoned.
I like that they make their sound,
why would I want them greased.
I like that they make their sound,
why would I want them greased.
It is terribly boring
to follow and follow the ruts.
It is terribly boring
to follow and follow the ruts.
The road is terribly long
without anything to distract me.
I don’t need silence,
I don’t have anything to think about.
I don’t need the silence,
I don’t have anything to think about.
I used to, but some time ago,
now I don’t think anymore.
The axles on my cart,
never again will I grease.
Published in: on March 31, 2009 at 20:19  Comments Off on Greasing The Wheels  
